Dr Ian Tunbridge OBE, Chair

Principal Consultant at the HE-FE Partnership Brokerage, Teaching Associate at the University of Exeter

Dr Ian Tunbridge has extensive experience of Higher and Further Education, and particularly of HE in FE, marketing, enterprise and widening participation. He is Principal Consultant at the HE-FE Partnership Brokerage and a Teaching Associate at the University of Exeter.

Until recently he was Deputy Vice-Chancellor (External) at the University of West London and was Acting Principal for Reading College in its transition from university to free-standing college status.

Before this, Ian was Executive Director of the Combined Universities in Cornwall, where he led the latest expansion of HE in Cornwall through a collaborative venture between the University of Exeter, University of Plymouth, University College Falmouth, Cornwall College and Truro College.

Following the completion of a PhD at the University of Reading, he followed an early career as an Exploration Geologist for Shell UK. He then worked for many years at the University of Plymouth, initially as a lecturer and researcher in Geology, and then as Access Co-ordinator, Director of Academic Partnerships and finally as Dean of University of Plymouth Colleges, for which work he gained a Queens Anniversary Prize for the University in 1994, and was awarded an OBE in the 2007 New Year’s Honours.

Ian was a founder member of the Association for Collaborative Provision, and is well known nationally as a leading senior manager of HE-FE partnership working. He led the development of Aim Higher in the South West of England and was recently the Chair of West, Central and North London Aim Higher Partnership.

Ian was appointed as a governor in December 2014 and Chair of the Board in August 2016.  Ian is a member of the Chairs’ Group (Remuneration), the Curriculum and Quality Committee, Finance and Resources Committee, and Search and Governance Committee.

Embed HTML not available.